Colette's Blog

Gluten-Free Atkins? It’s Possible!

November 25, 2014

You don’t have to go far to see the term “gluten-free” on store shelves or restaurant menus. Gluten is the protein in wheat that gives dough its elasticity, and many people now claim to feel healthier and better (and even lose weight) when they don’t eat gluten or cut back on it. For those with celiac disease (about 1% of the population), eating foods containing gluten can cause everything from irritability and depression or abdominal pain, bloating and diarrhea. About 6% of the population has been diagnosed with gluten intolerance, and, most likely due to a higher understanding of and bigger emphasis on food allergies, digestive health and genetic modification of grains, a quarter of Americans are cutting down on gluten or going gluten-free. When you avoid or cut back on gluten, you are naturally eliminating a highly processed grain, which explains why Atkins can be a gluten-free-friendly weight-loss program.

In early Phases, the whole foods recommended on Atkins have always been gluten free. You may even discover your sensitivity to carbohydrates and gluten when you first start Atkins and eliminate carbohydrate dense foods during Induction. If you start to feel worse once you reintroduce grains or flour in later Phases, you may have a reduced ability to process them, a kind of carb intolerance. And you may be sensitive to gluten. If you are sensitive to gluten, even complex carbs like whole-grain wheat could wreak havoc on your ability to lose weight and lead to a variety of other health woes. Although gluten free and low-carb are not one and the same, you can follow Atkins and be completely gluten free. As you progress through the Phases, once you hit Phases 3 and 4, closely watch your body’s reaction to whole grains. If you start experiencing discomfort or you are unable to continue to lose weight or maintain your weight loss, slowly cut back on the new carbs you have introduced until you start feeling better.

Your Guide to Gluten

Gluten is found in wheat, rye, barley and any foods made with these grains. These include but are not limited to:
White Flour
Whole Wheat Flour
Durum Wheat
Graham Flour
Triticale
Kamut
Semolina
Spelt
Wheat Germ
Wheat Bran

Common foods that are usually made with wheat include:
Pasta
Couscous
Bread
Flour Tortillas
Cookies
Cakes
Muffins
Pastries
Cereal
Crackers
Beer
Oats
Gravy
Dressings
Sauces

You may not expect it, but the following foods can also contain gluten:
Soups
Breadcrumbs and croutons
Some candies
Fried foods
Imitation fish
Some lunch meats and hot dogs
Malt
Matzo
Modified food starch
Seasoned chips and other seasoned snack foods
Salad dressings
Self-basting turkey
Soy sauce
Seasoned rice and pasta mixes

More From Colette

We All Scream for Ice Cream: Cool Down with Sweet Low Carb Treats

Summer is here, and nothing beats the heat like a refreshing scoop of ice cream. But if you’re following a low carb lifestyle, traditional ice cream and its sugar may be off the menu. Enter your new best friend, the CREAMi ice cream maker (maybe you even scored a PRIME deal on one recently). You

Read More »

Stay Cool with Low Carb No-Cook Dishes

Summer salads and sensational sandwiches When the temps are scorching almost everywhere, the last thing you want to do is heat up your kitchen (or turn on your stove). Fortunately, you don’t have to compromise on flavor for your low carb lifestyle with these refreshing no-cook recipes. These dishes are easy to prepare and packed

Read More »

Low Carb Gourmet Grilling for the 4th of July

This Independence Day, elevate your grilling with sophisticated low carb recipes that promise to impress your guests and satisfy your tastebuds. From the sizzle of a perfectly grilled ribeye steak to the unique char of a grilled Caesar salad wedge, these dishes are crafted to make your celebration memorable. Plus, check out tips to learn

Read More »